Mowing the yard…

After all the rain we’ve been getting, my yard was desperately needing to be mowed.  So, being the independent person that I am (thanks for passing this trait along mom!), I decided I would try and mow it while Tucker rode on my lap. I found hearing protection and strapped him in one of those chest baby carriers. When I tried to turn the motor over, all I heard was a click… GREAT… So, I pushed the riding mower out of the shed and pulled the car around to try and jump it. Success! With Tucker strapped to me, I felt safer than if he were just on my lap, but I was still very careful not to get too close to the edge of the curb. I set the blade pretty low because I just didn’t want to have to worry about mowing in another few days. I guess the grass was still pretty wet because it kept getting clogged!!  And every time I release the clutch and the mower took off, Tuckers head would bump my chin, ouch! He didn’t seem to mind, but I tried holding the wheel with one hand and supporting his head with the other, which seemed to work… UNTIL the steering wheel came off IN MY HANDS!! Literally pulled all the way out and into my hands… I have NO IDEA how that happened. It fit right back in, so I just popped it back into place and tried to keep mowing. After another lap or two around the yard it died and wouldn’t start back up.  I was so annoyed by this time and my back was killing me from supporting a bouncing toddler in the carrier. Thank goodness for friends because our best friends came over to watch the premier of Revolution and helped me finish mowing! I’ll be so glad when my husband is back and can help me with these things!! Not much longer… but also not soon enough!

As for Revolution, I’m not so sure I’m all that interested in it. I mean, it’s definitely no LOST… It was just the pilot episode, so I’ll give it a chance!

Leave a Reply

