Peacock Inspired Crochet Slippers

I absolutely LOVE my new slippers that I just worked up!  A few months ago, while browsing on pinterest, I saw some really cute and simple looking slippers made by Zoom Yummy. Well, it was getting ready to be summer and I’m a barefoot kinda gal, so I didn’t have much motivation at the time. While still on a birthday cake suger high (yesterday was my bday), I stayed up until almost 1am working on these… I only finished the first one before I started falling asleep. Since it’s been a dreary morning, I’ve been able to finish the other one and the peacock detail 🙂 I gotta say, I love them and I almost don’t want to wear them for fear they will get worn out!

When I have a litte more time, I’ll add my changes to Zoom Yummy’s pattern to get the size I needed and also I’ll add my peacock detail pattern!

*UPDATE* CHANGES TO THE PATTERN TO FIT MY 7.5 SIZE FOOT*

So I promised to add my changes to the pattern, here it goes: I only increased until round 3, round 4 is when I just put one dc in each stitch.  Round 11, I did 18 dc and turned. I only did 9 rounds of the 18dc, turn, and then I stitched the end up.  Around the top in the blue, I just put two dc in each around the sides, and back, but on the front, I put one dc in each. I also topped it off with a single crochet all the way around. These fit perfect when I first made them, but they have stretched out a bit now. I would probably take a round or so out of the 9 rounds of 18 dc for the next pair I make. Hope this helps!!

12 thoughts on “Peacock Inspired Crochet Slippers

  1. goforthandmakelovely

    happy belated birthday 🙂 would love to see your pattern changes here – i tried the zoomy yummy pattern too but i ended up with a weird flap at the back and i improvised on the other one. i am relatively beginner. hope all is well anyway, let me know if you get to share that 🙂 very nice work – so symettrical! lol, unlike mine 😀

    Reply
    1. Jessica Post author

      I added my changes, hope those help! What really helped me was to try it on alot! I also like to use a bigger hook, so fewer stitches were needed for me.

      Reply
  2. goforthandmakelovely

    brilliant, thanks so much 🙂 I will get around to trying these again this week – i got a bit fed up after having 2 pairs turn out wonky the last time! fingers crossed they’ll be perfect now with your help!

    Reply
  3. Amber

    I was wondering if you will be sharing the pattern for the peacock feather embellishment? My sister saw these on Pinterest and is begging me to make her some! Beautiful job-I love all the colors!

    Reply
    1. Jessica Post author

      Thank you very much! I wrote down the pattern for myself and tried to recreate it from what I wrote and had some difficulty following it and it didn’t work up right 😦 . I’ve got a smaller peacock detail that I have a pattern for and can post soon!

      Reply
      1. Amber

        That would be awesome, thank you so much! I have been searching for a peacock feather pattern forever-they are such a great embellishment :). Looking forward to the pattern!

      2. Jessica Post author

        Sorry it’s taken me awhile to reply. I was really hoping to try out the pattern and make a post on it but I just haven’t had time! Here’s roughly the pattern (keep in mind it’s not the same as the one in my picture above). 1. ch 3, sl st in first ch, ch 1, 5 sc, 2 hdc, 5 sc
        2. ch 1, 3 sc, 2 hdc, 2 dc, 2 hdc, 4 sc sl st
        3. 7 sc, in space between 2 dc in previous row (hdc, 3 dc, hdc) 7 sc, sl st and finish off leaving a tail to sew on.
        I’m going to try and work this up some time soon and create a new post with a picture!

Leave a Reply

