Sea Salt Caramels

When my church announced that the theme for our bake sale fundraiser for the local food shelters was “Candyland”, I knew I had to make caramels! After searching around for a recipe I stumbled upon this one and knew right away I HAD to add the sea salt!!
I followed the recipe but also the advice of others and only heated it to 245-250 degrees.
I did have a failed first attempt because I didn’t get my butter melted in my cream soon enough and by the time I did, I had scalded the sugar :(. Good thing this recipe is pretty cheap to make!!
I can think of only one thing that could make these better… Dipping them in some chocolate!! I was tempted but remember I said these were for my church’s bake sale so I knew if I added chocolate, I’d eat them all!
Sea salt chocolate covered caramels are definitely on the to do list though!

image

Leave a Reply

